Interlude 1: Coffee stains on a discarded page. (For God’s sake, a poem?)

29 Apr

1.

It’s my last day as a 36 year old.

I don’t know why I decided to write a poem.

I don’t much care for poetry.

I don’t read it.

I don’t write it.

I don’t appreciate it.

But here I am.

(I’m often an enigma to myself.)

2.

I love Rumi, Roberto Bolaño and William Blake.

A weird combination of people.

Rumi is sexy and wise

Bolaño is sexy and weird

Blake is weird and wise

Sex and wisdom and high weirdness

These things, clearly, matter to me

in some odd circular tautology.

3.

And the coffee stains on the discardible papers

A near-perfect semi-circle colored sludgy brown

And the sun-ravaged faces of the young

We have too much sun in this country

We have too much rain in this country

We have too much wealth in this country

I can’t seem to synthesize the disparities.

Everything these days is coated with dead skin and dust.

 

Something about the scarred page.

I start this poem.

4.

A memory.

I was fourteen.

It was late at night.

My cousin ran over a possum with his shitty car.

We turned around to look at the carcass.

The possum’s mouth was still moving.

My cousin shined his headlights on the dying animal.

He muttered something I didn’t hear.

We stared at the dying creature.

I knew then that one day I would die.

5.

A real memory, parsed through words.

Language is the most diabolical of traps.

You can feel the edges of it, the sinewy musculature

The bones and teeth of it, the gaps, the erosions

The imprecision.

Always the imprecision.

And what is poetry but a quest for precision?

Nothing is true, language seems to say.

Not even the words “nothing is true.”

Deconstruction. That’s the literary term.

Led me to some dark thoughts.

of squiggly lines

jagged realities overlapping in bizarre places

each person carrying a flawed universe inside.

I didn’t like it.

Everything felt liquid and insubstantial.

 

Boiled down to this:

6.

Words lie.

Images lie.

7.

So do people.

8.

Everything is everything.

Lauryn Hill said that.

If it is, it can be.

If it can’t, it won’t.

If it were so, it might be.

But as it isn’t, it ain’t.

That’s (stolen) logic.

9.

It was a horror, the deconstruction.

Sartre and Beckett and Conrad and Bergman and God’s silence

Tarkovsky and Dostoevsky and Dracula and Superman and God’s silence

I struggled.

I suffered.

I synthesized.

I sublimated.

Real horror is nonsense.

Real horror is unanswerable, patternless.

Death and the machinery.

Dust and decay and the crumble of buildings.

Fresh skulls repurposed for TV.

The blight of history.

All just words.

(I take some comfort in this.)

10.

I don’t drink enough coffee

I drink too much coffee

I can’t drink coffee and liquor on the same day

Therefore I never get drunk

An almost-syllogism for the modern man,

Who flickers against the digital displays of a billion monitors.

I don’t believe in the singularity

Although I want to be a futurist.

 

(Dig: the collective human imagination can liberate everything. Even our consciousness.)

11.

Bolaño always fucks famous writers in his poems.

He relishes the high/low brow saturnalia.

Blake fooled everyone, hiding the demiurge in a Christian’s robes.

Blake is one of the great tricksters in literature.

Rumi is pleasure and wisdom mitigated only by beauty and concision.

One of the most engaging minds in history.

There’s something here.

In this unholy trinity.

12.

My wife says you can be Whitman

wild and self-promoting

full of vigor and half-crazed with delight.

Or you can be Dickinson

inward and self-directed

quiet and insulated from the world.

“All artists fall somewhere on this spectrum,” she says.

I agree.

My fear is that I’m Whitman pretending to be Dickinson.

Or the other way around.

I admire them both.

Don’t ask if I read them.

(I don’t. Not anymore.)

13.

Language memory literature

At 19 I was an existential Christian.

I didn’t drink coffee.

I didn’t drink booze.

I read. A lot.

I loved Paradise Lost.

Milton almost bridges that God free will evil conundrum

I loved Gilgamesh

(and still do)

ancient god man sad and lonely looking for eternal life

I hated the Mystery Plays

and pretended to love Shakespeare

while I preferred Ben Jonson.

I studied the Romantic poets

Wordsworth and Byron and Shelley and Keats

and Coleridge and Tennyson and Browning

(I liked Coleridge best.)

For a hater of poetry, I’ve lived with a lot of it.

14.

Then Kafka, goddammit.

Kafka fucked me up.

He reinforced the Manichean sex-is-evil thing

He floated through my life like a ghost

A cringing weirdo.

An overdose of masochistic

self-lacerating

romanticized

yearning for real life.

And all of it false false false

(I’ve never forgiven him.)

15.

Literature began with two books.

Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis.

Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon.

I read them when I was 19.

Babbitt is about a small-minded man boxed in by the world.

He isn’t happy.

He is mangled by foolish thoughts.

He is as real a character as anyone walking and breathing now.

I love him for his failures and pettiness.

Gravity’s Rainbow is about boners bombs orgies the Nazi war machine

There’s an octopus trained to record human movement

It’s about the absurdity of the human condition and the absurdity of using language to render that human condition

Babbitt remains one of my most personal novels

He’s a friend of sorts, a man I fear and love.

Gravity’s Rainbow has receded

Something messy about the lack of structure, even the language.

(I now prefer V.)

Pynchon brought me DeLillo, paranoia, absurd linguistic dynamite.

Lewis brought me realism and pungent social criticism.

(There was a time when I confused him with Upton Sinclair.)

16.

Other confusions: Lee J. Cobb and George C. Scott and Rod Steiger. (Booming voices.)

And Celine and Genet and Gide. (French misanthropes.)

And love with sex

and laughter with intimacy

and rebellion with substance

and schlock with art

and heights with danger

and derangement with insight

Movies with real life

Movies with real life

(Who doesn’t prefer the beautiful lies?)

I stole that line from Ham on Rye.

17.

Or maybe it was Keroauc. Yes.

On the Road was the beginning of something.

And an ending.

It’s about wanderlust and drunkenness and being young

And finding a way through the stony nonsense

and he was a fatigued, unhappy man

miserable at the end

self-erasing.

There’s a lesson there, too, about art and writing and society and crime.

A flowering and wilting.

Did Keroauc know himself too well?

Or not well enough?

18.

I turn 37 tomorrow.

I spent a day in-between things writing this poem

Without a clear reason why.

Rootlessness, ennui, the bespectacled age

Coffee stains on an innocent, blank sheet of paper

Faultless without the human intention

Blameless before the smudge.

 

I must now decide

Do I write on it or toss it aside?

 

 

3 Responses to “Interlude 1: Coffee stains on a discarded page. (For God’s sake, a poem?)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interlude 1: Another intercoursing poem. “I do not want to intercourse miller, rimbaud or bergman.” | simoneandthesilversurfer - July 31, 2014

    […] these. Something clicks, usually when I’m walking my dog at night. Then I bang it out. And here’s my first attempt, if you’re […]

  2. National Book Award winners, number 32: 1996’s Ship Fever, by Andrea Barrett. | simoneandthesilversurfer - August 22, 2014

    […] been writing poems recently, which is insane. I’ve been reading more of it, but my mind seems to want to write […]

  3. Interlude 1: Unfinished Poem from the year 5000. | simoneandthesilversurfer - September 27, 2015

    […] going. But, hell, we have to put our stuff out there, right? So here’s another intercoursing poem, incomplete and disatisfying. But it’s science fiction-y, which puts it in a strange […]

Leave a Reply

